One of the blogs that I read regularly is written by an articulate political and economic conservative. For more than a year now, I’ve been concerned about this fellow’s false consciousness. He was just so deluded about so many things. He seemed like a nice guy, smart too. Sometimes I wondered if he just acted clueless to generate discussion. Then the other day, the other shoe dropped. He’s not one of us, he’s one of them. He’s an owner of capital, an exploiter of labor – albeit petite bourgeois. Suddenly it all makes sense. He’s not suffering from false consciousness, he has excellent class consciousness. His positions all make sense now, they serve his class interests. I still think he’s totally wrong about just about everything, but now I can see that those positions are consciously taken to serve self-interest. I no longer worry about him, only about those he employs.

